Skip to content

Signatories of Congressional Letter of Support for Keystone XL

January 2, 2011

That letter of support signed by 39 Republican members of the U.S. House has turned up on TransCanada’s website. We now have a battle of dueling letters to Hillary Clinton by long lists of U.S. Representatives. It’s a fairly partisan exercise. Only one Democrat signed the letter supporting immediate approval of the pipeline (Rep. Dan Boren of Oklahoma), and no Republicans signed the letter expressing concerns and requesting further review. Perhaps this would be a reason for an agency specializing in environmental protection rather than diplomacy to perform environmental reviews? In the end, a lot of people will be unhappy about the State Department’s decision, and at that point the decision had better be grounded on some hard law and science.

Of representatives from the pipeline states, signatories of the support letter included 4 of 5 representatives from Oklahoma, 2 of 4 from Kansas, and 9 of 32 from Texas. None of the 46 U.S. Representatives from the proposed route states (KS, MT, NE, OK, SD, TX) signed the letter of concern, although various officials from Montana and Nebraska have expressed concerns in other venues, many reported earlier on this blog.

For those of you keeping score at home, the letter in support of approving Keystone XL without further ado was signed by these representatives:

Robert Aderholt (R-Ala.)

Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.)

Rob Bishop (R-Utah)

Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)

Dan Boren (D-Okla.)

Charles Boustany (R-La.)

Kevin Brady (R-Tex.)

Paul Broun (R-Ga.)

Dan Burton (R-Ind.)

Bill Cassidy (R-La.)

Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah)

Mike Coffman (R-Colo.)

Tom Cole (R-Okla.)

Michael Conaway (R-Tex.)

John Duncan (R-Tenn.)

John Fleming (R-La.)

Jeb Hensarling (R-Tex.)

Wally Herger (R-Cal.)

Lynn Jenkins (R-Kan.)

Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.)

Frank Lucas (R-Okla.)

Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.)

Michael McCaul (R-Tex.)

Tom McClintock (R-Cal.)

Connie Mack (R-Fla.)

Donald Manzullo (R-Ill.)

Kenny Marchant (R-Tex.)

Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)

Sue Myrick (R-NC)

Randy Neugebauer (R-Tex.)

Pete Olson (R-Tex.)

Ted Poe (R-Tex.)

Bill Posey (R-Fla.)

Pete Sessions (R-Tex.)

John Shadegg (R-Ariz.)

John Shimkus (R-Ill.)

John Sullivan (R-Okla.)

Joe Wilson (R-SC)

Don Young (R-Ark.)

The letter requesting further review was signed by:

Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.)

Lois Capps (D-Cal.)

Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)

Joe Courtney (D-Conn.)

Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.)

Donna Edwards (D-Md.)

Sam Farr (D-Cal.)

Bob Filner (D-Cal.)

Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.)

Jim Himes (D-Conn.)

Mazie Hirono (D-Haw.)

Rush Holt (D-NJ)

Mike Honda (D-Cal.)

Jay Inslee (D-Wash.)

Hank Johnson (D-Ga.)

Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio)

John Lewis (D-Ga.)

Barbara Lee (D-Cal.)

Betty McCollum (D-Minn.)

Jim McDermott (D-Wash.)

John Olver (D-Mass.)

Mike Quigley (D-Ill.)

Albio Sires (D-NJ)

Jackie Speier (D-Cal.)

Pete Stark (D-Cal.)

Peter Welch (D-Vt.)

Lynn Woolsey (D-Cal.)

David Wu (D-Ore.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: